MANAGE STRESS

In today’s era,where life has become totally mechanical,stress is inevitable.While it is best to avoid stress,in cases where it is unavoidable,we must learn  how to manage it but first and foremost we must identify the cause of stress.Causes of stress may be umpteen ranging from managing Finances, excessive workload, maintaining social status or even your To-Do list(as in my case).We need to identify these causes and then learn the art of reducing or managing it.

In case of difficult situations,our body produces a hormone called Adrenaline/Cortisol which is more commonly known as “Fight or Flight hormone”.We react to the situation either by fighting it or running away from it.When faced with a difficult situation most of us actually react by Shouting.We are at a loss in handling the situation. Some people find respite in smoking or drinking.Overstressed people also often indulge in procrastination, sleeping more,eating junk food,using medication to relax etc etc.Let me tell you my friends,these are all unhealthy ways of coping with stress.It may give you momentary relaxation but they are not at all helpful in the long run.

Coming back to the topic,I have tried to enlist a few points on how to manage stress:-

1) Think Positively- Whenever intrusive thoughts enter your mind,focus on all the good things in life.In nutshell,Practice Gratitude.

2) Talk to someone-(something that I definitely need to learn)-It helps in releasing the bottled up tension and sometimes,it also helps in finding solutions to your problems.

3)Sleep well-I know it’s a bit contradictory,cause stress steals your sleep away but it is very important to have a sound sleep.Try taking a warm bath before going to sleep.Set a proper time for sleep and try going at the same time daily for sleep.Make the atmosphere of your bedroom soothing so that it calms your mind.

4)Learn to say NO–  Donot overburden yourself.Priortise your to-do list,after all you cannot do everything in a single day.A few days back my husband called me in the evening and said “Let’s meet on the way after office and my instant question was “Ok what is the to-do list?”.He reacted by saying “Why does it always have to be the household chores.Cant we just sit and have coffee somewhere?” A big lesson learnt that day.Donot overstress yourself guys.

5) Exercise/Go for a walk-It helps relax your mind and body.It also improves the quality of sleep.(better said than done).

6) Indulge in some recreational activity- It is as simple as that.HAVE  FUN in life.Play with your kids.Do painting/writing/meditation (as my toon),do anything that makes you happy.Set aside some leisure time for yourself.

Relax and be happy guys.Life is too short.I am sure there maybe a lot other ways of managing stress and I wish you people share the same with me.

Namaste!

Author: garypens

I am an Indian by origin living in the capital city of India:-New Delhi.I try to look at all the small things in life that brings a smile to one's face. Trying to share a little of my that side with people in hope to explore my hidden talents too.

19 thoughts on “MANAGE STRESS”

  1. Very nice gerry…true saying..points u have shared are really useful and we all should try to implement 4 better life and stay away little bit from stress..really awesome..

    Like

  2. Very fruitful thought, inline with current lifestyle of all working youth.. And Remedies to cope up the stress is very helpful.

    Like

  3. Very nice and useful tips for managing stress. I often get stressed with little things in my life. I will keep these points in mind, the next time I get stressed. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a comment